Several weeks ago, I posted a blog about my concerns with flipped classrooms.  This came up because of a discussion I had had with an educator who is wary of them and because of some links regarding flipping classrooms and instructional technology that someone had shared with me.

That blog was written out of concern over something non traditional. I was also concerned because there seems to be a movement, particularly in NC and particularly by certain government entities to take power away from educators.  I read a blog post earlier in the year about a movement to completely flip all classrooms and in doing so raise the amount of students in each classroom and then pay teachers based on how many students were in their classes.  So, if you want to make more money, be prepared to have 40- 60 students in your classroom. http://dianeravitch.net/2014/01/22/north-carolina-greatest-insult-to-teachers-ever-cooked-up-in-backroom/

I still have concerns with flipping – but I now see how phenomenal it can be too.  If an educator is committed to doing it in the appropriate manner that is best for the student, I think that middle and high school students could get a lot out of it.  I am still concerned about lower functioning students, students that don’t have access electronic devices and teachers who may not be able to break away from traditional teaching.  

Like most things, change is scary.  I will have to admit, now that I have learned a little more about it, flipped classrooms would have helped my son immensely.  He is one of those kids that “gets it” way before anyone else in class. Middle school was a study in tedium for him.  Each day when I would pick him up and ask this formerly enthusiastic, engaged “fact boy” from school and ask him how his day went, the response was “the same.”   High school was no better.  Even transferring him to a more academically challenging school did not help with enthusiasm.  Instructors, while wonderful, using the traditional methods, could only move as fast as their slowest element.  This left “fact boy” and others like him fluttering aimlessly. It has not been pretty.

I am very interested in seeing how, as a librarian, I can support teachers to flip effectively, not only for the students, but for themselves.

 

 

 

 

